Choosing a Site Builder

This week I learned how to choose the right site builder for my business. And to be honest, I think it all comes down to personal preference. There are great site builders out there that cover your specific needs. If you want something that is easy and basic, try Wix or Weebly. If you want something that is a little more technical, try WordPress or Squarespace. And if you know your HTML and would much rather build your own website, go for it.

When we’re deciding on which site builder to choose from, unless you know your stuff, many of us choose a site builder depending on their awesome templates, like me. We don’t often think about their host options and how much they charge for it, or if they offer Google Adwords. Before, I hadn’t realized how much I had to think about choosing a site builder or if I wanted to have a host separately or jointed. They’re small but significant things like this that make your business webpage more professional and well made.

Now that I mentioned hosting, I also learned the difference between having a host separately and jointed. After much thought and research, I concluded that having a host separate from your site builder is better than having it jointed. The reasons behind it are, when you have a separate host you’re able to be more flexible with your website. Whereas a jointed host, you’re basically following the hosting rules your site builder has. And if you ever feel like changing your page name, you can’t. Having a jointed host is for those who don’t necessarily want to expand; they want to remain small. But with a separate host, you come and go as you please.

Leave a comment